Within the last week, there have been numerous reports of a phishing scam attempting to take advantage of Moneybookers customers. If you receive an e-mail that looks like it may be from Moneybookers claiming that you have received money, but do not recall any reason why you should be the beneficiary of a transfer, simply delete the e-mail. The first wave of e-mails claim that philip_coelho@verizon.net has sent you €359.56 and urge you to click a link in the e-mail to accept the payment. DO NOT click on this link. The most likely result of following the link is that you will be presented with a page that looks like your account page at Moneybookers, but is really just a façade for the scam. When you enter whatever account information the page requests, this data will go right into the hands of criminals, who will most likely use it to clean out your account. Other e-mails have said that “moneybookers@absolutepoker.com” has sent you money. In addition to these specifics, general red flags to watch out for are: - Currency other than the currency you use in your account.
- Completely unknown sender.
- Unexpected transfer.
- Request that you click a link in the e-mail to access your account (NEVER do this – go directly to the website and login as normal).
- A generic greeting which does not use your real name.
If you receive any of these e-mails, report them to Moneybookers.
|